Connect with us

Nigerian news

10 dead and retired judges make list of acting CJN’s appointed tribunal members

Amadin Ogbewe



The acting CJN, Tanko Mohammed has sworn in a list of 250 election tribunal members, 10 of whom were dead or retired. 

According to Daily independent, a group of lawyers in Uyo, Akwa Ibom revealed the inclusion of the dead and retired judges on the list. 

They described “a posthumous appointment of anyone for such sensitive role in the country as burying Nigeria alive.”

The new acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Tanko Mohammed had sworn in 250 members of the election tribunals at the Supreme Court Complex in Abuja.

Recall Dockaysworld reported that President Muhammadu Buhari had on Friday suspended Justice Walter Onnoghen and swore in Ibrahim Tanko Mohammed as acting CJN.

One of the lawyers had said Justice Edemekong Edemekong whose name appeared as number 58 on the list had been dead since 2013.

Justice Chukwu, from Ebonyi State and number 53 on the list, who was formerly of the Federal High Court, is also said to have been long dead.

The lawyers also pointed out Justice Stephen Okon and Justice Okoyo Essang were retired judges on the list. 

“If dead and retired men are to sit on our election petition tribunal, then the APC-led federal government is out to drown this country and we vehemently reject a list parading dead men as members of the tribunal,” the lawyers said.

READDavido reacts to CJN, Onnoghen’s suspension 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Trending on Dockaysworld

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap