in ,

Luka Modric ends Ronaldo, Messi reign as he becomes FIFA world best player

Real Madrid superstar, Luka Modric, has been named the 2018 FIFA best male player of the year, defeating his contenders Ronald and M. Salah of Liverpool.
The Croatia born player was crowned at the just concluded FIFA 2018 awards  bringing an end to the 10-year reign of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.


Modric was crowned UEFA Player of the Year last month and has now also lifted the FIFA best male player award.

Modric’s outstanding performance and form last season, saw him lifting four trophies with Real, while he also leading his country to their first ever FIFA World Cup final in Russia

The 33-year-old was voted Player of the Tournament in Russia as well as at the FIFA Club World Cup – with the latter one of his four trophies in addition to the UEFA Champions League, the UEFA Super Cup and the Supercopa de Espana.

Read also: Fifa sanctions maradona for giving nigeria ‘two middle fingers’ at worldcup match

He beat his former teammate Ronaldo and Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah to win the prestigious award, while Lionel Messi finished outside the top three for the first time since 2006.

With this, the croatia born has become the first player other than Ronaldo and Messi to lift FIFA’s The Best award since Ricardo Kaka in 2007, ending their 10-year reign

TELEMMGLPICT000175669403 1 transNPhrcbGWe8WGow 9GPLWLFjph Vmfs4RP2jFys2DpBI

Dr Josh

Written by Dr Josh

Dr Josh a senior news reporter at Dockaysworld. He's a lover of culture and an advocate of human equality


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Nigerian woman returns to secondary school after childbearing in Enugu

Chioma’s boyfriend spends large as he purchases the latest iphone X for gang