Ronaldo, Messi, Vandijk Nominated for prestigious Award

FIFA have announced their shortlists for the Best Men of the Year awards.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are once again among the contenders, having been pipped by Luka Modric last year.

Virgil van Dijk, Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane make the cut after leading Liverpool to the Champions League, with Jurgen Klopp up for the Coach of the Year prize.

Kylian Mbappe, Eden Hazard and Dutch duo Matthijs de Ligt and Frenkie de Jong have also made the shortlist.

The winner will be confirmed in Milan on September 23.

Men’s player of the year award

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal & Juventus)
Frenkie de Jong (Holland & Barcelona signed from Ajax)

Matthijs de Ligt (Holland & Juventus – signed from Ajax)

Harry Kane (England & Tottenham)

Eden Hazard (Belgium & Real Madrid – signed from Chelsea)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Kylian Mbappe (France & PSG)

Lionel Messi (Argentina & Barcelona)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Virgil van Dijk (Holland & Liverpool)


Men’s Coach of the year’s nominees

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)

Didier Deschamps (France)

Marcelo Gallardo (River Plate)

Ricardo Gareca (Peru)

Pep Guardiola (Man City)

Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)

Fernando Santos (Portugal)

Erik Ten Hag (Ajax)

Tite (Brazil)

Odiase Osayande

Written by Odiase Osayande

Odiase Osayande is a senior sports writer at Dockaysworld. He is a strong supporter of Liverpool and he's telling the best stories of the beautiful game of football to fans worldwide.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Watch moment 3-year boy was rescued after falling from 6-storey building (video)

Vincent Enyeama fails trials with top European club