Connect with us


PFA Player of the Year: Six-man shortlist revealed as Mohammed salah misses out

Odiase Osayande



Premier league title rivals Liverpool and
Manchester City dominate the six-man shortlist for the Professional Footballers’ Association men’s Player of the Year award, with Virgil van Dijk and Raheem Sterling the front-runners. Last year’s winner Mohamed Salah is not nominated this season.

Centre-back Van Dijk joins Reds teammate Sadio Mané on the list, while England forward Sterling is included alongside fellow City players Sergio Agüero and Bernardo Silva. Chelsea’s Eden Hazard completes the nominees for the 2018-19 campaign, with the winner scheduled to be announced on Sunday 28 April at the annual awards ceremony in London.

There will be a new name on the men’s Young Player of the Year award, and City duo Sterling and Silva, both 24, also make this shortlist as they hope to succeed their teammate Leroy Sané in taking the prize.

They are joined in that category by Liverpool defender Trent Alexander-Arnold, West Ham midfielder Declan Rice, Bournemouth winger David Brooks and Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford.

PFA Player of the Year: Six-man shortlist revealed as Mohammed salah misses out

Reports understands Virgil van Dijk will be claim the price on April 28th while Raheem sterling will be named the Young player of the year award.

The Ex-Southamton man has been a revelation at the heart of Liverpool defense racking a total of 18 clean sheets this season.

Virgil van dijk was signed a year ago for a record fee of £75m.


Trending on Dockaysworld

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap